Music Recommendations

For over a year now, I’ve been stuck. I haven’t been able to find any music that I enjoy, other than the odd guilty pleasure pop songs, and I’ve fallen out of touch with my musical identity. When I was a teenager, I was in the *sigh* “emo” scene. I went to gigs constantly, met bands, took photos, got sweaty, headbanged – the lot. I knew what I liked and I was open to new music. But as I grew up, I found it more difficult to find music that I genuinely enjoyed. I still listen to my old favourites every now and again, but other than that it’s been mainstream music that I’ve gotten bored of within a few months.

I recently started a new job which, unlike my previous one, did not require me to be on the phone at all times. This meant that I could listen to music while doing my work. And while that was great for the first few days, I soon realised that I was seriously fed up of the music on my iPod. I mean seriously fed up. So I googled one of my favourite female-fronted bands, The Tuts, and landed on their Bandcamp page. What followed is what I can only describe as an addiction. Bandcamp is, as I’m sure many of you know, awesome. Almost all the DIY and independent bands have a Bandcamp page, as do many feminist bands. I have found so much music in the last couple of weeks that I have never heard before, and it’s seriously reignited my love for pop and punk rock.

So, without further ado, here are my (current) favourite bands on Bandcamp – some of them I already knew of, but definitely deserve a shout-out, but some (most) of them are totally brand new to me.

I’m going to make this a regular blog, and will update every month with any new bands I’ve been listening to.

  1. The Lippies – The Lippies EP

Favourite song(s): Sidewalk Talk & Thelma and Louise

The Lippies actually disbanded last month, which I’m super sad about because they have been on repeat since I first heard them. They also have a full-length album that is not on Bandcamp but can be found here: http://redscare.storenvy.com/products/15848841-the-lippies-s-t-cd-cccp-194-2

  1. CLAWS – No Sleep EP

Favourite song: To Be a Goth

  1. No Ditching – Face Ache

Favourite song: Meat in Your Teeth

  1. The Tuts – Time to Move On

Favourite song(s): Loving It & 1, 2, 3

  1. Colour Me Wednesday – Don’t Tell Anyone

Favourite song: In Your Shoes

  1. Perkie – Time Machines

Favourite song(s): Getting Old & While We’re Here

  1. Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit

Favourite song: Pedestrian at Best

  1. Kate’s Party – My Other Girlfriend

Favourite song: Strong Words

  1. Peach Club – The Bitch Diaries

Favourite song: My Best Friend

  1. The Beths – Warm Blood

Favourite song: Whatever

I still have a lot of the albums in my wishlist as I can’t afford to purchase them yet. If you’re feeling generous (or nosy), my wishlist can be found here! https://bandcamp.com/sophieelliott

Leave a Reply

